First known as the San Diego Clippers but was later changed to the Los Angeles Clippers in 1984. They were founded in 1970 as the Buffalo Braves.

Started in 1947 known as the Minneapolis Lakers. In the late 1950s, they struggled financially and relocated to Los Angeles.

Established in 1967 as the Seattle Supersonics. Relocated in 2008 to Oklahoma City and became known as the Thunder where they won the 2011-2012 championship.

Established in 1946 they were always known as the New York Knicks. One of two teams in which they are located in their original city(the other one is the Boston Celtics).

Founded in 1946 as the Boston Celtics. The second team that has remained in it's original city since it was founded.

Established as the New Orleans Hornets in the 2002-2003 season. In 2013 they renamed themselves the New Orleans Pelicans.

Established in 1955 and are the only Canadian-based team.

Founded in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors. In 1962 they relocated the San Francisco Bay Area and were known as the San Francisco Warriors. In 1971, they changed their geographic moniker and named themselves after California's nickname, the Golden State Warriors.